How to Identify Unfamiliar Names for Food Allergens
1. Hidden ingredients
The eight most popular allergens have to be identified on food products, according to the Food and Drug Administration. But they sometimes lurk in unfamiliar names. Here are the names that these allergies might be identified as.
There are many ingredients that indicate the presence of milk, including cheese, cream, yogurt, butter, casein, ghee, lactate solids, lactose, and whey.
Many ingredients indicate the presence of soy including bean curd, beans, edamame, soy beans, miso, soy sauce, tempeh, and tofu.
Common ingredient names include albumin, egg wash, ovalbumin, Simplesse and vitellin. Also watch out for a connection to eczema.
Artificial nuts, beer nuts, earth nuts, mandelonas, and hydrolyzed vegetable protein are just some of the ingredients and foods that may include a source of peanuts.
6. Tree Nuts
Watch out for Nutella, marzipan and pesto, as well as other foods that contain tree nuts.
Ingredients that indicate the presence of wheat include gluten, flour, wheat germ, bran, graham, and more. This is not to be confused with celiac disease.
Many Asian foods contain a source of fish. But other foods may contain fish ingredients too, such as barbecue sauce, fish sauce, bouillabaisse, Caesar salad, caviar and more.
Like fish, shellfish is found in ethnic and Asian foods. Be sure to check the ingredients label or ask your server about the presence of shellfish.
- Food Allergies.
The Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network.
- Food Allergies: A Complete Guide to Eating When Your Life Depends on It.
- The Health Professional’s Guide to Food Allergies and Intolerances.
Powered by Bundoo®